Noob and need some directions

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Noob and need some directions

Post by reprobubbles on Mon Jul 14, 2014 4:27 pm

Vacuuming forming is my hobby and I would like to make it full time. Currently I reproduce plastic blisters or inserts to vintage toys. I am working on a line of clamshells to protect vintage toys. I also reproduce boxes the toys came in and cut these all by hand. Your drag knife should make it where I could actually do a large production.

I understand if this isn't the place for all these questions. I have been doing a ton of reading and I think this has confused me more than anything. Like everyone else, I am on a tight budget and would appreciate your advice.

My friend has created most the boxes and saved them as a jpeg. I have some experience with photoshop but I don't think this helps here. What program should I create my 2d box drawings in? Then could you give me an outline of what programs I will need to finally get it to gcode to cut.

I have to save money to buy the CNC and have decided to build my own machine. I need a cutting area of 36 inches by 24. I think I am going to go with the Shapeoko kit. I will have to modify to make larger. I am a teacher, so fortunately I have a few people who can help me. I would appreciate all the direction you can give, so I can start saving and purchasing what I need. While I save, I figure I could get all my boxes created and ready to cut when I get the machine made.

Thanks

Patrick

reprobubbles

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Noob and need some directions

Post by DonekTools on Tue Jul 15, 2014 9:48 pm